Hands

August 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

As I mentioned in my previous post I have been looking more directly at the content (i.e. the images and language) of the publications I have been using to draw on. Often instructional hands are included. I love the strange dismembered floating hands. I particularly like the hands used in my tatting magazine:

Tatting Hands

They worked well in my drawn tatting pieces as the illustrated line of the thread looked as if it was joined onto my own draw line. The salmon pink hands against the black and white of the rest of my work is quite striking.

In this magazine they refer to one finger as the ‘ring finger’ along with the ‘middle’ and ‘little fingers’. The ‘ring’ finger is demonstrated very overtly in the cover illustration:

Tatting Hands Detail

I find the use of the phrase ‘ring finger’ to be a very antiquated example of pre-feminist language.

Look at those immaculate hands! In fact all these hands look pretty well turned out:

Crochet is Easy

The Art of Tatting

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hands at Sally Richardson.

meta

