Drawing Crochet cont.

August 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

Finished Piece

I have been focusing on completing some of the early pieces I started at the beginning of this process.

Detail

 

The drawing was completed on an A1 piece of tracing paper (very tricky to photograph). I have been coming back to this piece to complete sections of it at a time. I think you can see where I have stopped and started because the pressure of the pen has changed or I was adopting a particular style. I like this human quality to the piece.

To me the piece reads as a map: passageways, crossroads and branches of roads created by the various patterns the crochet makes.

The emergence of some rather chintzy motifs through the mark making may give some indication to the viewer of where the patterns have come from.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Drawing Crochet cont. at Sally Richardson.

meta

