Crochet Laces

August 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

Here are two new drawings I have completed.

The Iris Lace

The Viola Triangle

Unfortunately my scanner wasn’t quite big enough to fit ‘The Viola Triangle’ on completely.

I have started to pay more attention to the language used in the instructional magazines and books. Here I particularly like that the title of the piece is ‘The Viola Triangle’ and I have drawn a circle on it. It feels deliberately obtuse.

I had chosen written instructions from the crochet magazine to draw on. If I chose a page with too much image you wouldn’t get the impact that you do here. I must admit I miss the hands and the incidental qualities of the tatting pieces. I need to keep searching ebay and charity shops for more hands based instructions. Hands seem to have become important to me; I feel they add a more obvious connection to the process of the making of the textile pieces. Also the hands themselves tell us a lot about the women who were making these decorative pieces…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crochet Laces at Sally Richardson.

meta

