New Material

June 1, 2011 § 1 Comment

I have experimented with combining instructions with my drawings  by using collage techniques, however I would like to start drawing onto the actual pages of the manuals I have. Recently I have successfully bid on a tatting magazine and a pillow lace book in order to do this.

The tatting magazine has these graphical pink hands illustrating the various moves. I hope to further cement the link between the drawing and textile process by juxtaposing my drawings with these visual instructions.

 

I was also inspired by a recent trip to the Pitt Rivers  to buy this book by Margaret Hamer and Kathleen Waller. 

It includes an A3 point ground lace pattern which I will draw over once I’m brave enough. It has lots of these crazy dot to dot type illustrations on it:

 

 

 

§ One Response to New Material

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Material at Sally Richardson.

meta

